#1 JPM

JPM

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 35 posts
  • LocationTennessee

Posted 13 June 2013 - 11:03 PM

EDIT: Version 5 is available. Better instructions.

Here's a Screen Shot of version 4 (version 5 is very similar):

version4fullss.jpg

Hello All,

I thought I would share a calculator/spreadsheet that I'm working on to get some constructive feedback and recommendations. It's not a calculator moreso than a methodology so I'm looking for advice on how to improve it. I hope it will help new racers (like myself) come to grips with building our own setups. I'm not a programmer but I'm sure someone out there (alot smarter than I) could turn this into a working app without too much trouble. If you are one of them, feel free to do with it as you will and share it with the greater community. I'm also not an engineer so this is designed without complex physics computations. I wouldn't have the patience to reverse engineer iRacing's physic engine at any rate.  I used Excel because I've had some rudimentary training with it. I'm a big fan of the KISS principle..(keep it simple stupid!)

Quick background info on the project:

I started building this spreadsheet based on a methodology described by Bob Bolles in an article from CircleTrack. You can find the article here: http://www.circletra...ht/viewall.html. His article does a pretty good job explaining his method for setting ride heights and cross weights in layman's terms.

EDIT:
I re-evaluated the process/methodology. It simplifies things when I think of CW% as a horizontal plane with 4 corners. Initially, to keep the crossweight where you want it, you have to move (raise/lower) all 4 corners equally so that all your ride heights are within the allowable range for your chosen car.